Surrey Logo
Meet the Surrey instructors
When and where we train
Taekwon-Do theory
Tenents of TaeKwon-Do
Secrets of training
Belt system
Theory of power
TaeKwon-Do videos
TaeKwon-Do pictures
TaeKwon-Do shop
Grading information
Contact us

Belt System

There are six orders of belts: white, yellow, green, blue, red, and black. The colours have not been arbitrarily chosen. They are, in fact, steeped in tradition. The colours of black, red, and blue denoted the various levels of hierarchy during the Koguryo and Silla Dynasties.

10th Kup - White Belt

White signifies innocence, as that of a beginning student who has no previous knowledge of TaeKwon-Do.

8th Kup - Yellow Belt

Yellow signifies the Earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the TaeKwon-Do foundation is being laid.

6th Kup - Green Belt

Green signifies the plant's growth as the TaeKwon-Do skill begins to develop.

4th Kup - Blue Belt

Blue signifies the Heaven, towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in TaeKwon-Do progresses.

2th Kup - Red Belt

Red signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.

1st degree and above - Black Belt

Black is the opposite of white, therefore, signifying the maturity and proficiency in TaeKwon-Do. It also indicates the wearer's imperviousness to darkness and fear.


© Surrey TaeKwon-Do 2010. Website designed by Ashfield Web Design
International TaeKwon-Do Federation United Kingdom Taekwon-do Association